Get your FREE owner information pack

Got a property you'd like to let? Call us today

0345 604 3835

Rose Cottage

Location PinHartland, Devon | Ref: UKC702


Sleeps: 2


Pets: 1


Bedrooms: 1

Key Features of this property

  • Coastal Property
  • Wifi
  • Car parking on site
  • Detached Property
  • Garden / Patio
  • Ground Floor Facilities
  • Rural Location

All Features of this property

  • Detached Property
  • Ground Floor Facilities
  • Garden / Patio
  • Rural Location
  • WiFi
  • Washing Machine
  • Coastal within 5 miles
  • All En-suite
  • Ground Floor Wet Room
  • Parking - On Site

Accommodation description

All on the ground floor.
Open plan living space.
Living area: With Freeview TV and DVD player with a selection of DVDs.
Dining area.
Kitchen area: With electric oven, gas hob, microwave and washer/dryer.
Bedroom: With double bed and en-suite wet room with shower and toilet.

LPG central heating, gas, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Welcome pack. Lawned garden with sitting-out area and garden furniture. Private parking for 2 cars. No smoking.

Rose Cottage is the perfect choice for a relaxing holiday retreat, and is just 4 miles from the South West Coastal Path and many dog friendly beaches and hidden coves. This pretty detached cottage is tucked away peacefully within its own private garden area, bordered by a high hedge and colourful roses opposite the owner’s home.
The Hartland Peninsula is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, with breathtaking views over the Atlantic Ocean, and further far reaching views down the rugged North Devon coastline, towards Lundy Island, which is famous for its puffins. The coastline in both directions offers some of the most stunning scenery in the West Country, with many long sandy beaches and hidden sheltered coves to explore.
Picturesque Clovelly, with its quaint cobbled streets and harbour, is just 4 miles. The unspoilt village of Hartland is 1½ miles and has three pubs, galleries, village shops and a coffee shop. Coastal walking, fishing, golf, horse riding, surfing and sailing are all available in this stunning area. Docton Mill Gardens, Hartland Quay and RHS Rosemoor Gardens are well worth a visit. The famous surfing beaches of Westward Ho! and Bude are an easy drive. Nearby Bideford has restaurants and town amenities, along with boat trips to Lundy Island, or why not hire a bike and explore the nearby Tarka Trail. Beach 4 miles. Shop, pub and restaurant 1½ miles.

Property Location Map

location marker This icon broadly indicates the property location.

Guest reviews of this property

  • 10

    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 05/10/2019
    We wanted a relaxing break and that is what we got despite the weather which was in a word WET!! Miss Milly was lovely too.

  • 3


    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 15/06/2019
    It is with great interest that I read the reviews of people who stayed at this property. I have to award this property a very lowly 2/10. I can only assume that those people who have marked the property 9/10 and 10/10 must live in cardboard boxes or alternatively I must live in something akin to Buckingham Palace. Clearly I can not agree with their markings. a) on arrival at the property this first negative that we encountered was the overgrown small trees and bushes, heavy with rainwater, which were hanging over the bridge and growing up through the bridge in the garden.They needed cutting back. Every time I walked over the bridge I had to lean away and stoop forward from the overgrowth to avoid getting wet. b) on entry to the property the musty smell was immediately noticeable. We put that down to the property being unoccupied prior to our stay presumably with the door and all windows and being closed. We assumed that this would be rectified with some fresh air passing through but each day as we returned to the property the same musty smell was there c) the property has very little natural light inside and with the windows being of the smaller size it appeared quite dark inside. Added to this the overgrown flora and fauna outside partially covered the main window which further restricted the amount of natural light inside the property c) the oven was unworkable - at least I couldn't get to work d) the bathroom sink is incredibly small e) the washing machine takes absolutely ages to complete a cycle f) the property is a 10 minute drive from Hartland. g) the bedroom is very small, cluttered, has an irregular shape and has little wardrobe space We have holidayed in similar rented holiday cottages for over 25 years and it is our opinion that this property represents very poor value for money compared to others that we have rented.

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our apologies that the bushes and trees hindered your access, it’s a shame you didn’t let us know at the time as my husband would have dealt with the issue immediately as he keeps our garden in a very tidy order. The property had been empty for the week before you arrived however our cleaner airs the property regularly and did a thorough clean on the day of your arrival & did not notice any untoward smell. It is a very old barn conversion with 4 foot deep walls and as such the windows are in keeping with the age of the property, again, if you had mentioned the vegetation my husband would have been more than happy to deal with this. The oven instructions are in plain view on top of the microwave, however if you had asked we would have been happy to assist as we are only next door. The bathroom sink, again, is entirely in keeping with the age & style of the rest of the property. The washing machine is a new eco-friendly super efficient washer dryer with several programmes including a quick wash, which again we would have been happy to show you how to use. It does state in the information on “ The unspoilt village of Hartland is 1½ miles “ The bedroom is in keeping with the style and age of the rest of the sympathetic barn conversion and does contain a double wardrobe complete with hangers. All your issues could have been addressed by ourselves in swift order during your stay if you had only spoken to us about them. We were very disappointed and upset by your comments as our guests are always happy with the property and often return again and again.
  • 9


    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 25/05/2019

  • 10


    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 02/03/2019
    Very nice and relaxing holiday

9.0 out of 10 – based on 10 reviews collected by ReeVoo
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39.00 booking fee.
Selected start date
Available start days
Duration days
Unavailable days

2 nights - mostly start on Fri or Sat
3 nights - must start on Fri

4 nights - must start on Mon
5 nights - 22nd or 29th Dec 2012 only.

Secure payments

Register to receive our email updates

Don't miss out on regular holiday offers, accommodation news and update emails from WelcomeCottages and – just enter your email address below:

Privacy Policy

We realise that your privacy and security must be protected and we treat this seriously. Please click here to see our Security and Privacy Policy.