Welcome Cottages is part of the family

Welcome Cottages offers high quality, good value accommodation in great locations across the UK and Ireland. This collection is one of many within the family and each has been carefully curated by our cottage experts.
If you can’t find what you are looking for at Welcome Cottages, click here to visit and browse over 19,000 properties from all of our collections, all of which are inspected and graded to ensure you find the perfect cottage.

Get your FREE owner information pack

Got a property you'd like to let? Call us today

0345 604 3835

Moby Dick Cottage

Location PinWhitby, Yorkshire | Ref: UK2147


Sleeps: 2


Pets: 1


Bedrooms: 1

Key Features of this property

  • Coastal Property
  • Pub within 1 mile
  • Pets stay free
  • Coast within 1 mile
  • Sea View
  • Ground Floor Facilities

All Features of this property

  • Bike Store
  • Ground Floor Facilities
  • Golf nearby
  • Pub within 1 mile
  • Sea View
  • Pets – no charge
  • Decorated at Christmas
  • Fishing Nearby/On-site
  • Coastal within 1 mile
  • Coastal within 3 miles
  • Coastal within 5 miles
  • Bath/Shower Seat
  • Shower Cubicle

Accommodation description

This contemporary ground floor apartment is situated just 2 minutes from the centre of Whitby. Overlooking the marina and ideally placed for exploring the cobbled back street shops, indoor market, abbey, church and a 3 mile stretch of golden sand. Whitby is a bustling fishing town that is home to many amazing events throughout the year, including the bi-annual Goth Weekender, the Bram Stoker Film Festival, a Christmas Festival and the Whitby Regatta. Alongside this Whitby attracts visitors from all over who love to sample the many bars, restaurants, cafés and tea rooms, as well as museums and galleries.
This is also the perfect place to make as your base for exploring the North York Moors National Park and the Yorkshire Heritage Coast. Travel by steam train into the heart of ‘Heartbeat’ country or take a fishing trip out to sea on one of the many boat trips that leave the harbour. The Cleveland Way snakes along the coast and is a must for those who enjoy the great outdoors. Robin Hood’s Bay and Runswick Bay are just some of the highlights along the coast, whilst the medieval walled city of York is just an hours’ drive or train ride away. Beach 500 yards. Shop 200 yards, pub and restaurant 20 yards.

Ground Floor:
All on the ground floor.
Living room: With electric coal effect fire and 32" Freeview TV.
2 steps to...
Kitchen/dining room: With electric cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer.
Bedroom: With double bed.
Shower room: With shower cubicle, toilet and shower seat.

Electric central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels included. Welcome pack. Enclosed courtyard. Bike store. On road parking, public car park, £7.50 per day; unloading at the door. No smoking. Please note: There are 2 small steps up from the living room to the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

Property Location Map

location marker This icon broadly indicates the property location.

Guest reviews of this property

  • 9

    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 08/06/2018
    Lovely stay!! Brilliant location :) although there wasn't a DVD player but lots of dvds which was confusing and a bit disappointing

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the owner; So pleased you enjoyed your stay, sorry about the DVDs. The previous TV had a built in DVD player we upgraded it not long ago and forgot to remove the DVDs sorry about the confusion.
  • 4


    Posted by anonymous

    Confirmed guest, 27/04/2018
    The bed was broken 3 nights on the sofa fell through the damaged bed 3 times even after it was meant to have been fixed. Washing machine broken been out of action since last August according to the visitors book dangerous plug next to bed broken and wires exposed,one fork the other one was a desert one! Parking £9 per day if you can get in the one and only car park at the end of the road, roadside parking available if you don’t move your vehicle for the week! All in all a disappointing week away! Owner lives in Spain therefore very difficult to sort out any problems that arise, the cleaning lady was lovely and did her best to sort out the issues with the bed we finally had a new one delivered after 3 nights sleeping on the sofas

    Response from:

    Response on behalf of the Owner; We are very sorry you had such a hard time staying at the Moby Dick Cottage in Whitby but we did everything possible to sort things out for you both. You didn’t report the bed being broken until Sunday morning so we only knew after the 1st night and as soon as I took your call I made arrangements for the bed to be screwed tighter because as you told me you were a joiner and that is all needed to be done and if you had your tools with you, you would have tightened it all up. The washing machine is not on the itinerary. The dangerous plug was not reported to me or to my cottage manageress when she came around to fix the bed with my grandson; it was repaired on the Friday morning when you left. No one has reported there weren’t enough forks and again if it had been reported to my manageress on the Sunday morning, she would have bought more. Parking - unfortunately this is out of our hands. We do not live in Spain; we are on an extended holiday. One or two things you miss out on your review is you were offered alternative accommodation for Sunday night with parking upon which you refused. When we got up on the Monday morning at 8-30, we had 16 missed calls and 4 messages. A new bed base was delivered by Monday lunchtime. All in all we think we couldn’t have done anything else to help you, if there was we would have done it quite gladly.
9.1 out of 10 – based on 18 reviews collected by ReeVoo
Prices are per property not per person includes a £39.00 booking fee.
Selected start date
Available start days
Duration days
Unavailable days

2 nights - mostly start on Fri or Sat
3 nights - must start on Fri

4 nights - must start on Mon
5 nights - 22nd or 29th Dec 2012 only.

Secure payments